Dissecting the TotalEnergies BWF World Championships 2022 men’s doubles draw

We are done with the singles categories of the TotalEnergies BWF World Championships 2022. it is now time to look at the doubles events, starting with the men’s.

The men’s doubles bracket is just as competitive and deep as the men’s singles and women’s singles draw. Three of the most recognizable teams are the “Minions” Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo, the “Daddies” Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan, as well as the “Seksi Bukan Kepalang” tandem of Kim Astrup and Anders Skaarup Rasmussen.

Why a pair from Denmark has a Bahasa Indonesian moniker, we are not sure why. But that was what the host of the draw described Astrup and Rasmussen as, so we are sticking with it.

Back to the three, all of them are found in the top half, with Ahsan and Setiawan and Astrup and Rasmussen set to cross paths on the quarter-finals. Others in their section include last year’s semi-finalists Ong Yew Sin and Teo Ee Yi of Malaysia, BWF Thomas Cup Finals 2022 champions Arjun MR and Dhruv Kapila of India, brothers Christo Popov and Toma Junior Popov of France, and ranked duo Supak Jomkoh and Kittinupong Kedren of Thailand.

Joining Gideon and Sakamuljo in their segment of the bracket are fellow Indonesians Fajar Alfian and Muhammad Rian Ardianto as well as Koga Akira and Saito Taichi of host country Japan.

Meanwhile, defending champions Kobayashi Yugo and Hoko Takuro of Japan have to face either Krishna Prasad Garaga and Vishnuvardhan Goud Panjala of India on the second round before probably going up against Muhammad Shohibul Fikri and Bagas Maulana of Indonesia the next phase. Awaiting them on the round of eight are either Goh V Shem and Tan Wee Kiong of Malaysia or Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty of India.

Over on Section 3, there could be an all-Malaysian clash on the third round between sixth-ranked Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik and 11th seeds Goh Sze Fei and Nur Izzuddin.

Others to look out for in the tournament include Okamura Hiroki and Onodera Masayuki, and Matsui Keiichiro and Takeuchi Yoshinori of Japan; Choi Sol-gyu and Seo Seung-jae, and Kang Min-hyuk and Kim Jae-hwan of South Korea; as well as Manu Attri and B. Sumeeth Reddy of India.

Author Details

JP is an all-around sportswriter who covered the Bingo Bonanza Philippine Gold Grand Prix 2009. Aside from BWF badminton he follows football, basketball, and pro wrestling.