Uber Cup Legends

The Uber Cup has held 28 tournaments in a span of over 60 years. That amount of time is enough for it to produce its own legends. Here are five badminton greats who won the World Team Championships for Women.
Han Aiping (China)
Considered to be one of the greatest ever to play badminton, Han Aiping was in China’s squad that won every Uber Cup held in the 1980s (1984, 1986, 1988).
Gao Ling (China)
From one generational legend to another, Gao Ling was an ever-present fixture in the Chinese team that dominated the 2000s (2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008).
Judy Devlin (USA)
Judy Hashman was a pioneer of the tournament, piloting the United States to victories in the first three stagings (1957, 1960, 1963).

Susi Susanti (Indonesia)
Susi Susanti is one of Indonesia’s most bemedaled shuttlers, coming out on top of most tournaments she competed in, including twice at Uber Cup (1994, 1996).

Yamaguchi Akane (Japan)
The former world number one helped Japan win its first Cup in nearly 30 years.