Korea at the Uber Cup 

South Korea as an unassuming powerhouse in the world of badminton

The Republic of Korea, also known as South Korea or Korea – whichever way you want to refer them – is an unassuming powerhouse in badminton. 

Proof of this is their performance at the Uber Cup. Let us go through the team’s history in one of BWF’s most prestigious tournaments. 

History of Korea at the Uber Cup 

The country first competed in the tourney in 1969. Back when the format featured a short final stage, they participated in the qualifiers twice (1969, 1978). 

Since 1984, the first occasion where the Thomas and Uber Cups were concurrently held, Korea has never missed the tournament proper. They have reached the top four every time except in 2006, where they were eliminated by Chinese Taipei in the round of eight, 2-3. 


Korea has been two-time champions, winning it all in 2010 and 2022. They defeated China in the final round in both stagings. 

They are also the fifth and latest country to lift the trophy, the fourth from Asia, and the third from east Asia. 

In addition, they have also been runners up seven times (1988, 1990, 1992, 2002, 2004, 2012, 2016). The country they succumbed to every time has been China, which makes sense since the latter have been champions more than half the times the Uber Cup has been held. 

Furthermore, Korea has received the bronze medal in ten editions. They did not lose the battle for third place back when the format had that. 

How the Uber Cup was won 

The win in 2010 was significant as it broke China’s stronghold in the competition, halting the “Middle Kingdom’s” championship streak to six straight. 

Korea started hot, winning the first two matches. Bae Seung-hee swept Wang Yihan, 23-21, 21-11, while Kim Min-Jung and Lee Hyo-jung upended Ma Jin and Wang Xiaoli in three games, 18-21, 21-12, 21-15. 

China won the second singles with Wang Xin emerging against Sung Ji-hyun, 21-14, 16-21, 21-7. However, the Koreans closed it out in the second doubles, as Ha Jung-eun and Lee Kyung-won came from one game down against Du Jing and Yu Yang to come out on top, 19-21, 21-14, 21-19. 

Meanwhile, the title in 2022 was just as crucial and dramatic. It prevented China from claiming back-to-back crowns, the first time they failed to win badminton’s World Women’s Team Championships in succession. 

An Se-young could not keep Chen Yufei down despite the top-ranked Chinese suffering a slight injury during the match. Chen prevailed, 17-21, 21-15, 22-20. 

Lee So-hee and Shin Seung-chan tied the count, tripping Chen Qingchen and Jia Yifan, 12-21, 21-18, 21-18. However, He Bingjao owned Kim Ga-eun, 21-12, 21-13, to give China the lead once again. 

The formidable duo of Kim Hye-jeong and Kong Hee-yong forced a winner-take-all, beating Huang Dongping and Li Wenmei, 22-20, 21-17. 

It was all up to unheralded Sim Yu-jin as she mustered all her might to put down Wang Zhiyi, 28-26, 18-21, 21-8. 

Looking ahead 

There are still a lot that will happen before Korea gets to defend the diadem, as BWF’s top women’s team event is still two years away. One question will be in everyone’s mind as the date nears: will they be able to win in China’s territory? 

FKorea is one of badminton’s silent giants. They have won BWF’s premier women’s team tournament – the Uber Cup – twice. 


You may also like

Top 5 Players in the European Badminton Championships  May 20, 2022

Uber Cup Legends April 6, 2022